2017 Finalists


The winner of each category will be announced at the annual Exercise Industry Awards Dinner on 25 November 2017 at the Grand Millenium Hotel, Auckland.

All finalists are listed in alphabetical order.

Facility  Categories

Chain / Group Facility of the Year – For facilities that are part of a larger chain or group. -Sponsored by NRG Fitness

  • CityFitness  – Lower Hutt
  • CityFitness – Lyall Bay, Wellington
  • CityFitness – Moorhouse, Christchurch
  • Les Mills – Newmarket, Auckland
  • Stanmore Bay Pools and Leisure, Auckland
  • YMCA Mt Albert, Auckland


Independent Facility of the Year – For facilities that are stand-alone businesses. -Sponsored by Fitnessworks

  • ABSolute Health & Fitness, Dunedin
  • Iron Hood Fitness, Christchurch
  • NRG Fitness, Cromwell
  • Total Body Fitness Centre, Gore


Studio of the Year – Studios and specialist facilities.

  • FXU Vibration Training Studio, Upper Hutt
  • Hot Yoga Works, Auckland
  • Power Living New Zealand, Wellington


Supreme Club of the Year – The best of the best.

  • Selected from the winners of the above 3 categories.


Individuals Awards Categories

Personal Trainer of the Year – Finalists in this category attend the live judging event on Friday 24 November. – Sponsored by AUT University

  • Corinne Austin, Northland
  • Freya Thomson, Palmerston North
  • Matt McKay, Dunedin
  • Matthew Bevege, Hamilton
  • Naz Spencer, Auckland
  • Ross Bymolt, Auckland


Up and Coming Personal Trainer of the Year – For Personal Trainers in business for less than two years. Finalists in this category attend the live judging event on Friday 24 November. -Sponsored by CatchFitness

  • Abby Dutton, Hamilton
  • Devin Glover, Lower Hutt
  • Emma Goldstraw, Auckland
  • Polly Taylor, Blenheim
  • Shane Way, Hamilton
  • Tom Burke, Wellington


Small Group Trainer of the Year – Personal trainers who lead small group training sessions. Finalists in this category attend the live judging event on Friday 24 November. -Sponsored by Fitnessworks

  • Adam Christian, Auckland
  • Libby Searle, Christchurch
  • Paula Brady, Lower Hutt
  • Manuela Schmid, Christchurch
  • Steve Butler, Auckland


Group Exercise Instructor of the Year – Own Choreography – Instructors teaching freestyle group exercise classes. -Sponsored by OneMusic

  • JB Anderson, Christchurch
  • Lis MacLeod, Auckland
  • Martin French, Auckland
  • Nicola Williams, Auckland


Group Exercise Instructor of the Year – Pre-Choreographed  – Instructors teaching pre-choreographed classes. -Sponsored by PowerMusic

  • Lee Radich, Palmerston North
  • Lis MacLeod, Auckland
  • Loren O’Hanlon, Auckland
  • Louise Neville, Christchurch
  • Vinny Lopez, Wellington


MindBody Teacher of the Year –This category includes Yoga, Pilates but can be any class style that incorporates extensive principles of mind-body philosophy. -Sponsored by Courage my Love

  • Amy Green, Whakatane
  • Kotte Aguilar, Christchurch
  • Larissa Tonya O’Brien, Auckland
  • Lauren Tinker, Auckland
  • Nikki Ralston, Auckland


Outstanding Support Award – Individuals working in a support role in an organisation or a facility.

  • Di Lauder, Queenstown
  • Heather Bunyan, Wellington
  • Julia Laulu Faalogo, Auckland
  • Naomi Lovodua, Auckland


Community Excellence Award – Individuals or organisation offering exercise to populations that may normally find exercise difficult to access.

  • ACTIVE@thepark, Motueka
  • Silver Sneakers, Cromwell
  • Tāne Whanake, Christchurch
  • YMCA Lynfield Youth & Leisure, Auckland


Programme Excellence Award – Programmes involving exercise nutrition or other lifestyle interventions. -Sponsored by PTLAB

  • Koha Fit, Tauranga
  • Nordic Kiwi, Auckland
  • OA Smart Course, Auckland
  • Puff Fitness postnatal recovery programme, Wellington


Innovation Award  – A programme that is either a new idea or adds a unique angle onto an existing concept. – Sponsored by Active Management

  • Busybody 12 Minute System, Auckland
  • in2hula – Hoop with Heart Activity programme for preschool children, Christchurch
  • Stanmore Bay Leisure Centre – HIIT for Seniors, Auckland


Educator of the Year – A person supporting or training exercise professionals in a lecturing mentoring or presenting role.

  • Alistair Richardson, Hamilton
  • Mark Hurdle, Christchurch
  • Siona Fernandes, Auckland


Special Awards

The following awards are selected directly by the organisation and are not open for entry.

Exercise Association of NZ 

New Zealand Register of Exercise Professionals Award  

Skills Active Awards


Other Awards

Peoples Choice Award – The winner of this category is chosen by popular vote,   Voting closes 3 November 2017 – Click here to vote  – Sponsored by Horleys

  • Daz Murray
  • Dmitro Miklashevskiy
  • Kylie Carston
  • Lis MacLeod
  • Lauren Tinker
  • Michael Sullivan
  • Paula Brady
  • Renee Riley


Student of the Year – unlike other categories students are nominated by their education provider to represent the best of their current students – Sponsored by Les Mills New Zealand

  • Brett McCready, AUT University, Auckland
  • Fenton Flavell, Toi Ohomai Institute of Technology, Tauranga
  • Jodie Pinkerton, NZ Institute of Health & Fitness
  • Kosei Higurashi,  FIT College, Auckland
  • Linda Kong, NZ Institute of Sport, Wellington
  • Raphael Sa’u, UCOL, Palmerston North
  • Ryleigh Hayes, Wintec, Hamilton