2018 Finalists


The winner of each category will be announced at the annual Exercise Industry Awards Dinner on 24 November 2018 at the Grand Millenium Hotel, Auckland.

All finalists are listed in alphabetical order.

Facility Categories

Chain / Group Facility of the Year – For facilities that are part of a larger chain or group. -Sponsored by NRG Fitness

  • Cityfitness – 3 Kings, Auckland
  • Cityfitness – Willis St, Wellington
  • Les Mills New Lynn, Auckland
  • Stanmore Bay Leisure Centre, Auckland
  • YMCA at Lynfield Youth & Leisure, Auckland

Independent Facility of the Year – For facilities that are stand-alone businesses. -Sponsored by Fitnessworks

  • ABSolute Health and Fitness, Dunedin
  • Huddle Group Fitness, Christchurch
  • Iron Hood Fitness, Christchurch
  • Peak Fitness and Health, Hawkes Bay

Franchise Facility of the Year – For facilities that are part of a franchise.

  • Anytime Fitness Cashmere, Christchurch
  • Anytime Fitness Shirley, Christchurch
  • Anytime Fitness Rangiora, Canterbury

Studio of the Year – Studios and specialist facilities.

  • Adapted Yoga and Pilates, Christchurch
  • FXU VIBE, Wellington
  • Mind Body Movement, Whakatane
  • Studio Glow, Hamilton

Supreme Club of the Year – The best of the best.

  • Selected from the winners of the above 3 categories.


Individuals Awards Categories

Personal Trainer of the Year – Finalists in this category attend the live judging event on Friday 23 November. – Sponsored by AUT University

  • Claire Bellingham, Auckland
  • Dan Hardie, Wellington
  • Freya Thomson, Palmerston North
  • Ginera Ozich-Linton, Auckland
  • Matt McKay, Dunedin
  • Naz Spencer, Auckland
  • Ngarama Milner-Olsen, Wellington


Up and Coming Personal Trainer of the Year – For Personal Trainers in business for less than two years. Finalists in this category attend the live judging event on Friday 23 November. -Sponsored by CatchFitness

  • Ben Marvin, Auckland
  • Ben Means, Wellington
  • Hayley Rapson, Auckland
  • Jane Williams, Christchurch
  • Kelly MacDonald, Auckland
  • Radley Harahap, Dunedin


Small Group Trainer of the Year – Personal trainers who lead small group training sessions. Finalists in this category attend the live judging event on Friday 23 November. -Sponsored by Fitnessworks

  • Boris Belmar, Auckland
  • Calvin Mitchell, Rotorua
  • Karen Hulston, Canterbury
  • Reece McCaffrey, Christchurch
  • Vanessa Warren, Christchurch


Group Exercise Instructor of the Year – Pre-Choreographed  – Instructors teaching pre-choreographed classes. -Sponsored by OneMusic

  • Helen Suckling, Wellington
  • Julie Bish, Auckland
  • Kelly Hadwin, Auckland


Group Exercise Instructor of the Year – Own Choreography – Instructors teaching freestyle group exercise classes. -Sponsored by  PowerMusic

  • Julia Ryder, Christchurch
  • Michelle Cross, Christchurch
  • Roxanne Flawn, Christchurch


MindBody Teacher of the Year –This category includes Yoga, Pilates but can be any class style that incorporates extensive principles of mind-body philosophy. -Sponsored by Courage my Love

  • Jase Te Patu, Wellington
  • Mans Parsotam, Auckland
  • Pooja Maddela, Auckland


Outstanding Support Award – Individuals working in a support role in an organisation or a facility.

  • Charmaine Aitken, Christchurch
  • Kate Maxwell, Canterbury
  • Michelle Cross, Christchurch
  • Tabassum Razi, Auckland


Community Excellence Award – Individuals or organisation offering exercise to populations that may normally find exercise difficult to access.

  • FXU VIBE for Chronic Illness, Wellington
  • Instinctive Fitness Community Work, Rotorua
  • Seeding Yoga in Schools, Wellington
  • Soaringwords with Zumba at Wilson Home, Auckland
  • Your Way Wellbeing / Wellbeing – Your Way, Hamilton


Programme Excellence Award – Programmes involving exercise nutrition or other lifestyle interventions. -Sponsored by PTLAB

  • Farm Boot Camp, Canterbury
  • Nats Levi Challenge, Auckland
  • Running Hot Coaching Hawkes Bay
  • Gold Fit at YMCA Auckland, Auckland


Innovation Award  – A programme that is either a new idea or adds a unique angle onto an existing concept. – Sponsored by Active Management

  • Circuband
  • Human Weapon Self Defence, Auckland
  • Safari Fitness (Wild New Zealand), Rotorua


Educator of the Year – A person supporting or training exercise professionals in a lecturing mentoring or presenting role.

  • Jesse Laughton, Wellington
  • Joe Waide, Wanaka
  • Mark Hurdle, Christchurch
  • Wendy Sweet, Hamilton


Student of the Year – Sponsored by Les Mills New Zealand 

  • Calah Stuart – Wintec, Hamilton
  • Olivia Bradley – FitCollege, Masterton
  • Paul Starck – AUT, Auckland
  • Raphael Sa’u – UCOL – Palmerston North
  • Sef Lelei Mekuala – NZIHF
  • Seth McConchie – Toi Ohomai Institute of Technology, Tauranga

Special Awards

The following awards are selected directly by the organisation and are not open for entry.

Exercise Association of NZ 

New Zealand Register of Exercise Professionals Award  

Skills Active Awards