About the fitness industry awards

The fitness industry awards are an annual event, which started in 2005, recognising excellence in the exercise and fitness industry.

The awards have a number of categories (a full list of award categories can be found here), for both individuals and facilities that operate in the fitness/exercise industry, as well as special awards for those outside the industry showing a commitment to health and wellness through exercise.

With the exception of three awards, all awards are based on an application process that is reviewed by a judging panel, with finalists (pre-announced) and winners announced at a formal awards ceremony.

The award ceremony itself is extremely prestigious, and guest speakers have included the politicians the Hon John Key, Hon Rodney Hide, Hon Murray McCully and Sue Kedgeley.  The award ceremony’s MC is fitness and media personality Suzy Clarkson.

For a list of past winners, please see our past winners of the fitness industry awards page.


From 2005 – 2009 the awards were run by FitnessLife and were known as the FitnessLife Awards.

From the outset the awards were recognised by the industry association for the fitness industry (Exercise New Zealand), as well as the registration body for exercise facilities and exercise professionals (Register of Exercise Professionals or REPs).

After the 2009 event FitnessLife passed on the running of the event to ExerciseNew Zealand.