2010 Exercise Industry Awards Finalists


Finalists have been announced in the 2010 Exercise Industry Awards, they are:


Gravity – Exercise Studio

  • M1nt Fitness, Christchurch
  • One2One PT and Fitness Studio,  Whangarei

Dynex – Club of the Year (under 500 members)

  • Heritage Health Club, Christchurch
  • Marina Fitness, Auckland
  • Bruces Fitness, Te Awamutu

Advance Fitness Marketing – Club of the Year (501-1500 members)

  • Y Fitness Albert St, Auckland
  • Arena Gym at Pettigrew Green Arena, Napier

Blue Fitness – Club of the Year (1500+ members)

  • Les Mills Takapuna, Auckland
  • First Place Fitness, Hamilton
  • Manurewa Fitness Centre, Auckland

Advance Fitness Distribution – Supreme Club of the Year

Made up of the winners from the above four categories.

Fitnessworks – Innovation Award

  • Kristy Robertson & Dr Kerry Loomes, Obesity Risk Assesment
  • Les Mills, Look Better Naked
  • The Leisure Centre Whangaparoa, Aquaworks

APRA – Facility Sight and Sound Award

  • Les Mills, Christchurch
  • Les Mills, Hutt City
  • Marina Fitness, Auckland


HQH – Up and Coming Personal Trainer of the Year

  • Andrew Burge, Auckland
  • Abraham Dyer, Auckland
  • Tracey Butler, Christchurch

FitnessLife Magazine – Personal Trainer of the Year

  • Alison Storey, Waikato
  • Rachel Marks, Wellington
  • Corinne Austin, Whangarei
  • Ryan Hewitt, Auckland
  • Greig Rightford, Wellington

Group Exercise – Freestyle

  • Elly McGuinness, Christchurch
  • Erin Raines, Christchurch
  • Paul Dunn, Christchurch

Group Exercise – Pre-Choreographed

  • Scott Agnew, Christchurch
  • Hernan Lopez, Auckland
  • Helen Bond, Hamilton

Small Group Training

  • Em Grault, Christchurch
  • Grant Hughes, Dunedin
  • Minda Galvin, Wellington

AUT University – Gym Instructor of the Year

  • Dennis Grennell, Auckland
  • Claudia Gallur, Auckland
  • Taroi Tofilau, Auckland
  • Raoul Palu, Auckland

Federal Print – Outstanding Support

  • Toni Clough, Auckland
  • Ritua Allivaa, Auckland


Horley’s – Community

  • AUT Never2Old active ageing programme, AUT University, Auckland
  • Adults in Action, Manukau Leisure Services, Auckland
  • Active Life Programme, Comcare Charitable Trust, Christchurch

Bella – Fitness Mentor

  • Dennis Grennell, Auckland
  • Broni McSweeney, Christchurch
  • Kerry McEvoy, Auckland

Lecturer of the Year

  • Rowena McEvoy, Max International College for Fitness Professionals, Auckland
  • Broni McSweeney, CPIT, Christchurch

Peoples Choice

  • Blair Williamson, Christchurch
  • Richard Ellis, Auckland
  • Susan Baxter, Dunedin
  • Sharon Carroll, Waipu
  • Raj Chinnaiyah, Wellington
  • Raoul Palu, Auckland
  • Michelle Watson, Christchurch
  • Sydney Dickinson, Auckland
  • Paul Dunn, Christchurch
  • Jean Scott, Christchurch
  • Fiona Compston, Auckland