2013 Finalists

Finalists have been announced in the 2013 Exercise Industry Awards, they are:

Club Awards:

Club of the year  1500+ Members:

  • Les Mills Christchurch
  • Anytime Fitness – Shirley, Christchurch
  • Les Mills Britomart, Auckland
  • The Gym, Tauranga

Club of the year 500-1500 Members:

  • Configure Express – Albany, Auckland
  • Onehunga War Memorial Pool, Auckland
  • Habit Vero, Auckland
  • ABSolute Health & Fitness, Dunedin
  • Tepid Baths, Auckland

Club of the year <500 Members:

  • Habit Evans Bay, Wellington
  • Habit Platinum, Wellington

Studio of the year:

  • Activ8NZ , Northland
  • Zest Fitness Studio, Christchurch


  • cityfitness Group
  • Habit Evans Bay

Outstanding Club Support Award:

  • Toni Clough, Auckland
  • Salil Warekar, Auckland
  • Kristy Loe, Auckland


Community / Education Awards:

Community Award:

  • Lauren Parsons Wellbeing Specialist
  • Active in Age, Taranaki
  • YMCA Lagoon Leisure & Fitness Centre, Auckland
  • YMCA Ellerslie Recreation Centre, Auckland
  • Sport Hawkes Bay

Lecturer of the year: 

  • Richard Greer, Southern Institute of Technology, Christchurch
  • Kerry McEvoy, Max International College of Fitness Professionals, Auckland
  • Kelly Pender & Cheree Cooper, Bay of Plenty Polytechnic, Tauranga


  • Kate Churcher, YMCA Auckland
  • Rick White, cityfitness South Island Fitness Manager
  • Paul Dunn, Christchurch YMCA


Individual Awards:

 Personal Trainer of the year:

  • Micah Brown, Blenheim
  • Alana Joe, Wellington
  • Corinne Austin, Whangarei
  • Halle Baker, Whangarei
  • Greig Rightford, Wellington

Up and coming Personal Trainer of the year:

  • Jessica Rule, Keri Keri
  • Tom Berry, Christchurch
  • Amelia-Jane Hoffman, Auckland

Small Group Trainer of the year:

  • James Stewart, Wellington
  • Laurinda Howarth, Auckland
  • Matt Harrison, Whangarei
  • Lauren Parsons, Palmerston North
  • Helen Chisholm, Auckland

Gym Instructor of the year:

  • Allison Sandquist, Auckland
  • Alice Adams, Auckland
  • Margaret Lee, Methven
  • Toa Su’a, Auckland
  • Geoffrey Ruaporo, Auckland

Group Exercise – Freestyle:

  • Al Neale, Christchurch
  • Erin Raines, Christchurch
  • Brent Edwards, Auckland

Group Exercise – Pre-choreographed:

  • Henry Liu, Hamilton
  • Elena Ogle, Gisborne
  • Daniel Ball, Hamilton
  • Natalee Levi, Auckland

Up and Coming Student of the year:

  • Becky West
  • Vicky Zumbraegel
  • Pauline Broughton
  • Luke Stanway
  • Joseph Tuaiti