2014 Finalists

Finalists have been announced in the 2014 Exercise Industry Awards.  Judges have commented that a record number of entries have made 2014 an EXTREMELY competitive year.  A big congratulations to all who have been selected as finalists and the best the luck for the remainder of the judging process.

Facility Awards:

Club of the Year (over 1500 members):

  • Les Mills Christchurch
  • Anytime Fitness Shirley, Christchurch
  • Les Mills Auckland

Club of the Year (between 501-1500 members), sponsored by Fitnessworks:

  • Habit Vero, Auckland
  • Jetts Fitness Taupo
  • Habit Majestic, Wellington
  • Contours Papanui, Christchurch
  • Jetts Fitness Porirua

Club of the Year (under 500 members):

  • Habit Evans Bay, Wellington
  • The Heritage Health Club, Christchurch
  • Habit Platinum, Wellington
  • Pro Fit, Te Awamutu
  • Corporate Wellness Solutions, Christchurch

Studio of the Year:

  • MICFIT, Christchurch
  • Inshape Studio, Whangaparaoa
  • Keri Ropati Weightloss and Fitness, Auckland

Supreme Club of the Year, sponsored by CYBEX:

The Supreme Club of the Year is determined from the winners of the above four categories.

Individual Awards:

 Personal Trainer of the Year, sponsored by AUT University:

  • Nathan Martin, Wellington
  • Strini Naidoo, Tauranga
  • Carol Pirika, Upper Hutt
  • Matthew Norris, Auckland
  • Naomi van Jaarsveld, Hamilton

Up and Coming Personal Trainer of the Year, sponsored by New Zealand Fitness Magazine:

  • Hollie Pluck, Nelson
  • Ruth Wilkinson, Queenstown
  • Vicki Zumbraegel, Christchurch
  • Courtney Durr, Wellington
  • Simon Bowie, Christchurch

Gym Instructor of the Year:

  • Dylan McLaughlin, Auckland
  • Julie Doak, Christchurch
  • Matt Nash, Auckland
  • Barbara Joseph, Auckland
  • Jermaine Robinson, Hutt City
  • Zusje Hooker, Christchurch

Small Group Trainer of the Year, sponsored by Fitnessworks:

  • Liam Deabill, Auckland
  • James Stewart, Wellington
  • Calvin Mitchell, Rotorua
  • Kerry Johnson, Auckland
  • Matt Harrison, Whangarei

Group Exercise – Freestyle Instructor of the Year, sponsored by OneMusic:

  • Al Neale, Christchurch
  • Elena Ogle, Gisborne
  • Mans Parsotam, Auckland

Group Exercise – Pre-choreographed Instructor of the Year, sponsored by Powermusic:

  • Al Tetevano, Lower Hutt
  • Shane Taylor, Lower Hutt
  • Natalee Levi, Auckland
  • Carolina Arias, Auckland

Outstanding Club Support Staff Member of the Year, sponsored by Belle by Invivo Wines:

  • Paul Dunn, Christchurch
  • Romina Veseli, Auckland

Student of the Year, sponsored by Les Mills New Zealand:

  • Hadassah Meadows, Southern Institute of Technology
  • Samantha Bot, Fit College New Zealand
  • Chanta Keesing, Wintec
  • Joshua Randall, AUT – School of Sport and Recreation
  • Joanna Smith, Fitnation NZ

Education and Community Awards:

Educator of the Year, sponsored by Drug Free Sport:

  • Richard Greer – Southern Institute of Technology, Christchurch
  • Rick White – cityfitness, Blenheim
  • Lynne O’Malley – Waikato Institute of Technology, Hamilton
  • Chantel Knox and Cat Keene – NRG Health and Fitness, Cromwell
  • Neill Share – Jetts Fitness, Auckland

Innovation of the Year, sponsored by Eye Fitness:

  • Livfit Health, Auckland
  • PT Success, Christchurch
  • Sport Hawke’s Bay – Kori Tinana Mo Nga Kaumatua Programme, Napier

 Recipients of the Community Excellence Award, sponsored by Horleys:

  • Active in Age, New Plymouth
  • NRG Health and Fitness, Cromwell
  • Pregnancyexercise.co.nz, Nationwide
  • Nordic Walking, Auckland
  • West Wave Wellness, Auckland
  • SomeBody Weigh Better, Nelson
  • Sport Hawke’s Bay – Kori Tinana Mo Nga Kaumatua Programme, Napier
  • Livfit Health, Auckland
  • Activ8 Northland, Whangarei